California Contractors License Schools

California Contractors License Schools
Preparing Students for the California Contractor's Exam Since 1982.

Friday, October 3, 2014

The California Contractors License Exam

A lot of you are probably wondering what kind of test is involved in order to get a contractors license. There are actually two tests that you must pass, one on law and one on your trade, unless you are getting a C-61 classification which has no trade exam. If you pass one and fail the other, you only have to retake the one that you failed.

The questions are multiple-choice (A, B, C or D). There are 115 questions on the law test and a passing score is 66%. The trade tests range between 100 and 120 questions, depending on the trade. The scores required to pass range between 60% to 76%.

If you fail, the State charges $60.00 to re-take the test(s). You can keep taking the test for up to eighteen months and then your application voids and you must re-apply. Your application also voids if you fail (or fail to appear) and don't pay the re-exam fee within the 90-day time limit. Note that if you fail to appear twice your application will void as well. If you re-apply within 60 days of your void date you will not have to prove your experience again.

Once you have passed the test and obtained your license you do not have to test again. There are no continuing education requirements either. If you pass your test(s) and do not move forward with getting the license, for whatever reason, it is good for five years. So, if you re-apply you will not have to take the test(s) that you passed.

The key, of course, is good preparation.

For more detailed information, see this article

No comments:

Post a Comment